什么是Bowens病?

原位的鳞状细胞癌,也称为Bowen's病,当癌细胞严格生长在皮肤的外层时发生,这称为鳞状细胞皮肤。它是一种易于治愈,早期形式的癌症。

医生喜欢留意它,因为虽然条件不严重,它很少会进展成成熟的鳞状细胞癌,这是一种侵入性皮肤癌,蔓延到皮肤的更深的水平。后一类型的癌发生在约3%至5%的病例中,并且它们往往未被诊断。

它不是传染性或传染性的,它没有任何过敏。它倾向于发生在具有皮肤容易晒伤的皮肤容易晒伤的肤色良好的人。因为皮肤的颜色可以从一代传递到下一代,所以该疾病可能在家族中发生,但它本身不是遗传性疾病。

它的原因是什么?

据信Bowens病是由长期暴露于阳光下引起的。它也在接受免疫抑制治疗的人群中普遍存在,并且与放射治疗,长期砷摄入和人乳头状瘤病毒相关,导致生殖器疣出现。

Bowens病的外观和感觉是什么?

它的起始通常包括持续补丁的鳞状红色皮肤大约1至3直径的大小,慢慢扩散。暴露的皮肤通常是最受影响的,一个或几个补丁偶尔铺展到面部,颈部,头皮,手和腿上几厘米。它可以被误认为银屑病,湿疹或其他皮肤病症,这是为什么建议进行活检。

如果肿块或溃疡出现在贴片顶部,这可能表示鳞状细胞癌的侵入性形式。出血也敲响警钟。

Bowens病通常不会引起任何症状。除了轻微的不适,当皮肤抓住衣服,你把它,取下或刷它对皮肤,你不应该意识到任何疼痛。

谁可以有Bowens病?

它在70岁以上的妇女中普遍存在,其具有经常暴露于阳光下的公平皮肤。 Bowens疾病补丁通常出现在老年妇女的小腿上,但它也可以发生在男性以及身体的几乎每一个部分。当它影响男性阴茎时,它称为弓形疱疹病,它看起来像一个棕色斑块在腹股沟区。

你可以删除吗?

考虑到其位于皮肤表面的事实,鲍氏病不能这样治愈,但是可以去除贴片,使得实际上没有留下痕迹。 GP可能建议您监测皮肤斑,但不以任何方式干预。然而,当推荐任何形式的治疗时,通常会有高的治愈率。

根据皮肤贴片的大小,厚度,数量,状况和位置,可以使用以下方法之一来移除贴片:

切除

一个熟练的医生将切割皮肤补丁,如果它不是很大。围绕贴片的区域将在局部麻醉下切割,然后将皮肤缝合回到原位。这种类型的手术会留下疤痕。

2.冷冻治疗

液氮冷冻是一个简单的过程,可以在GP实践中进行,在几个会话过程中或在一个小时。您可以预期一些发红,肿胀,结痂和/或以后起泡,并且愈合可能需要几天。

3.滴注

在刮宫期间,在麻醉患者后刮去皮肤贴片上的外层。然后施加热量以停止出血并帮助密封伤口。当治愈时,该区域将看起来像一个最终脱落的痂。

4.奶油

5-FU(化疗)霜中的活性成分5-氟尿嘧啶破坏异常皮肤细胞并且使健康的细胞完整。因为它攻击不健康的细胞,它会导致皮肤肿胀和变红,但炎症会在治疗过程结束时愈合。

咪喹莫特是另一种用于去除由Bowens病引起的异常皮肤细胞的奶油,但它通过触发使免疫细胞攻击它们的反应来起作用。它还导致皮肤发炎。

5.光动力疗法

该技术包括将特定波长的光束照射到先前用光敏乳膏摩擦的皮肤片上,这可能是一个痛苦的过程。在施用乳霜的时刻和激光指向皮肤的时刻之间将有4-6小时的时间间隔,并且每个激光治疗会话可持续长达45分钟。所产生的炎症可持续几天,在此期间,其不应暴露于阳光下。

6.放射治疗和激光

这些治疗还涉及将辐射束发送到皮肤贴片。小腿区域,其中皮肤脆弱和紧张,不能使用放射治疗。不幸的是,有许多Bowens病例,受影响的区域在小腿上。

在进行上述任何治疗后,您可能需要随访的GP约会。

如何防止复发?

在您移除受影响的皮肤区域后,Bowens Disease补丁可以重新出现在身体的任何地方。尽可能经常检查皮肤的复发迹象。为了防止这种情况,请佩戴防紫外线太阳镜和帽子,并始终从头部到脚趾覆盖身体。

避免阳光直射中午,购买4或5 UVA星和SPF超过30防晒霜。每次游泳后,不要早于每次日光浴前30分钟,按照制造商的指定应用。

如果你有一个红色的皮肤补丁,你不知道是什么原因,建议你看到你的GP。他们可以直接确定原因并诊断病情,或将您转介给皮肤科医生。

What is Bowens Disease?

Squamous Cell Carcinoma in Situ, also known as Bowen's Disease, occurs when there's a growth of cancerous cells strictly on the skin's outer layer, which is called the squamous cell skin. It's an easily curable, early form of cancer.

Doctors like to keep an eye on it because, while the condition is not serious, it can rarely progress into full-blown Squamous Cell Carcinoma, which is an invasive type of skin cancer that spreads to the skin's deeper levels. This latter type of carcinoma occurs in about 3% to 5% of cases, and they tend to be undiagnosed.

It's not infectious or contagious, and it's not connected to any allergies. It tends to occur in people with fair complexion, whose skin is prone to sunburns. Because the colour of the skin can be passed on from one generation to the next, the disease may run in the family, but it is not a hereditary condition, per se.

What is its cause?

It is believed that Bowens Disease is brought on by long-term exposure to sunlight. It's also prevalent among people receiving immunosuppressive treatments, and it has been connected with radiotherapy, long-term arsenic intake and the human papillomavirus, which causes genital warts to appear.

What does Bowens Disease look and feel like?

Its inception usually consists of a persistent patch of scaly red skin about 1 to 3 diameters in size, which spreads slowly. Exposed skin is usually the most affected, with one or several patches occasionally spreading to a few centimetres across on the face, neck, scalp, hands and legs. It can be mistaken for psoriasis, eczema or other skin conditions, which is why having a biopsy is advised.

If a lump or an ulcer develops on top of the patch, this could indicate an invasive form of squamous cell carcinoma. Bleeding also rings alarm bells.

Bowens Disease doesn't usually cause any symptoms. Other than slight discomfort when the skin catches on clothing as you put it on, take it off or brush it against the skin, you shouldn't be aware of any pain.

Who can have Bowens Disease?

It's prevalent in women over 70 years of age with fair skin that is exposed to sunlight often. The Bowens Disease patch usually appears on elderly women's lower leg, but it can occur in men as well, and on nearly every part of the body. When it affects the male penis, it's called Bowenoid papilosis, and it looks like a brown patch in the groin area.

Can you have it removed?

Given the fact that it's localised on the skin's surface, Bowens Disease can't be cured as such, but the patches can be removed so that there is virtually no trace of it left. The GP may recommend that you monitor the skin patch, but not intervene in any way. Still, when any form of treatment is recommended, it will usually come with a high cure rate.

Depending on the size, thickness, number, condition and location of the skin patch, one of the following methods can be used to remove the patch:

1. Excision

A skilled medical practitioner will cut out the skin patch, if it's not very large. The area round the patch will be cut under local anaesthetic, and the skin will then be sewn up back into place. This type of surgery will leave a scar.

2. Cryotherapy

Liquid nitrogen freeze is a simple procedure that can be carried out at a GP practice either over the course of several sessions or in one fell swoop. You can expect some redness, swelling, crusting and/or blistering afterwards, and healing may take several days.

3. Curettage & cautery

During curettage, the outer layer on the patch of skin is scraped off after anaesthetising the patient. Then heat is applied to stop the bleeding and help seal the wound. When healed, the area will look like a scab that eventually falls off.

4. Cream

The active ingredient 5-fluorouracil in the 5-FU (chemotherapy) cream destroys abnormal skin cells and leaves the healthy ones intact. As it attacks unhealthy cells, it causes the skin to swell up and turn red, but the inflammation will heal at the end of the course of treatment.

Imiquimod is another cream used to remove abnormal skin cells due to Bowens Disease, but it works by triggering a reaction that makes immune cells attack them. It also causes the skin to become inflamed.

5. Photodynamic therapy

This technique involves shining beams of light of a specific wavelength onto the patch of skin, which has previously been rubbed with light-sensitive cream, and it can be a painful procedure. There will be a 4-6 hour lapse between the moment the cream is applied and the time the laser is directed at the skin, and each laser treatment session can last for up to 45 minutes. The resulting inflammation can last a few days, during which time it should not be exposed to sunlight.

6. Radiotherapy and laser

These therapies also involve sending beams of radiation to the patch of skin. Lower leg areas, where the skin is fragile and tight, can't be treated using radiotherapy. Unfortunately, there are many cases of Bowens Disease where the affected area is on the lower legs.

After having any of the treatments described above, you may need follow-up GP appointments.

How to prevent recurrence?

After you've removed the affected skin area, Bowens Disease patches can re-appear anywhere on the body. Check the skin as often as possible for signs of recurrence. To prevent it, wear UV-protective sunglasses and a hat, and cover your body from head to toe at all times.

Avoid direct sunlight around noon and buy sunscreen with 4 or 5 UVA stars and an SPF over 30. Apply it as specified by the manufacturer, after each swim and no earlier than 30 minutes before each sunbathing session.

If you have a red patch of skin and you don't know what caused it, it is recommended that you see your GP. They may determine the cause directly and diagnose the condition, or refer you to a dermatologist.